Wheelwright Lane Primary School
Wheelwright Lane Primary School Logo


The aim of the Governing Body is to work together with the staff at Paget to ensure the best possible outcomes for the children and families we serve.

There are nine members of the governing body who are elected for terms of four years. The governing body is represented by staff, parents, members of the local community and local authority representatives.

The governors meet regularly to monitor the work of the school with full governing body meetings taking place at least once each term. In addition to this sub-committees including: finance, staffing, premises and curriculum meet regularly throughout the school year.

Each non-staff governor also adopts a class and regularly comes into school to meet with the children, watch their class assemblies and sometimes lend a helping hand on school trips. Each governor also has responsibility for a specific subject across the school.

We are always keen to hear your views and I hope that this page will help you to understand better what we do, who we are and why we are serving as Governors.​

Ms Hayley McIlwraith
Chair of Governors

Governing Body Members

NameTitle/ResponsibilityEnd of Term
Ms Hayley McIlwraithChair of Governors, LA Governor22/3/2025
Mrs Fiona EtheridgeVice-Chair of Governors, Co-opted Governor19/3/2023
Mrs Alison SturgessVice-Chair of Governors, Co-opted Governor19/3/2023
Mr Colin LovellCo-opted Governor17/5/2025
Ms Michelle SmithCo-opted Governor24/11/2024
Mrs Tina LandersParent Governor10/12/2021
Mrs Daksha PatelParent Governor20/3/2022
Miss Victoria NusseyHeadteacher-
Mrs Joanne DennyStaff Governor16/10/2021
SIPSClerk Services-

Governors’ Vision Statement

“To work as a cohesive unit in providing support and challenge to the School so that every child, whatever their background or circumstances, is empowered to reach their full potential allowing them to go out into the world and make it a better place.”